Pronunciation - 12.30pm Ireland /3.30pm Dubai / 7.30am New York. 13th April Taster Class - Dublin School of Drama and Communications

Upcoming Classes

Public Speaking Dublin Classes
Public Speaking Course Overview- 1pm (IST)/ 4pm (GST) / 8am (EDT) 7th April 2021 Taster Class
April 2, 2021
Public Speaking Dublin Classes
Public Speaking Course Overview- 1pm Irish Time / 4pm Dubai / 8am New York 13th April 2021 Taster Class
April 3, 2021

Pronunciation – 12.30pm Ireland /3.30pm Dubai / 7.30am New York. 13th April Taster Class

0

7 in stock

Description

Start Date: Tuesday 13th April

Duration: 12.30pm – 1.00pm  (Irish Time)

Cost: This is a free taster class

This class is specifically designed for non native english speakers. The six week course is broken into the following areas:

Breathing: This is what sustains speech and ensures a well-modulated voice. Correct breathing technique means that you will be able to project your voice and manage your nerves when speaking in front of a group. It is important to spend time ensuring that Intercostal Diaphragmatic Breathing technique is achieved as this will combat many speech fault issues.

Articulation and Diction: One of the main difficulties in learning a new language is being able to pronounce words correctly. We will work on the organs of articulation focusing on how the sounds are produced for the English Language this will be broken down into work on vowels and consonants.

There are five vowels in the English Language a, e, i, o, u however there are over 15 different vowel sounds. Through the course we will work through the mouth shape for the different vowels and the different vowel sounds. It is important to master these for correct English pronunciation as it is impossible to pronounce consonants without the vowel sounds in between them.

Consonants consist of the rest of the letters in the English Alphabet which are not vowels.

In order to pronounce consonants properly an understanding of the placement of the organs of articulation need to be understood. The theory behind the organs of articulation will also be thought to ensure full comprehension.

Delivery Skills: It is not enough to be able to speak english theoretically, rate, pace, infection, emphasis are vital to aid in good delivery and comprehension. This is worked on through weekly performing of literature in class. It will increase vocabulary and comprehension of colloquial language which will be important for the Cambridge English Exam.

 

PLEASE NOTE YOUR ZOOM INVITE AND NOTES FOR CLASS WILL BE SENT THE MORNING OF THE CLASS.  IF YOU HAVE NOT RECEIVED THEM CHECK YOUR SPAM FOLDER AND IF THEY ARE NOT THERE EMAIL US ON SALES@SPEECHDRAMADUBLIN.COM.